Retrospect Pro for Windows 8?

MarkF2748

I've been using Retrospect since 2006 on a small network of Windows PCs and workstations, currently all Win 7 and Retrospect Pro 7.7. Over time, I've come to really appreciate the flexibility and power of this backup solution.

Will there be a Retrospect Pro for Windows 8, especially given the new backup options built into Windows 8? Does the current Version 7.7 for Windows work on a Windows 8 host in a mixed Win 7/Win 8 client environment?

Retrospect 7.7 does support Windows 8, but it does not support the new Windows 8 Disk Spaces feature.

Well, that appears not to be quite true. The Retrospect Client cannont be found unless a user is actually logged in. If I start up a Windows 8 Pro PC and leave it at the Lock Screen then my Retrospect backup PC cannot find the client. If I log in to the Start Screen it can. But this is not a workaround for me as I have my client PCs start up (from the BIOS) at night for my backups to run.

I have even created a task to fire up the Retrospect Client at Windows 8 Startup, but no joy.

EDIT: Additionally it is not "aware" of the Windows 8 swapfile and a Compare warning occurs: File "C:\swapfile.sys": didn't compare.

EDIT: It looks like the new Retrospect Windows Professional Version 8 may fix this problem with a new client. I have asked Support to confirm this.

Edited by Colin F

Win 8 host data point:

I've been running Retrospect 7.7 host on a Win 7 32-bit PC. When that PC was upgraded (i.e. not clean install) to Win 8 32-bit, then Retrospect continued to work as if nothing had changed (like all my other applications so far). The clients are Win 7 32-bit and 64-bit on a wireless network.

MarkF2748,