error 204 (device busy) completely random and is driving me crazy

Greetings gang,

I'm brand new to the Retrospect family after having migrated from 'some oither' backup software that was not performing up to spec.

We are a video production company and I am in charge of all 'data management' if you will. Currently I have over 200+ GB to back-up and have been having no success with Retrospect. At complete random occasions, retrospect reports an error 204 (device busy) when writing to DVD-R media.

I have followed the manual's instructions and shut off all types of file sharing and ethernet activity. I went into the OSX system prefs and told OSX to 'ignore' blank DVD-R and CD-R media when inserted.

I have the newest Retrospect Driver Update 5.2 loaded for Retrospect 6 OSX.

I have two DVD-R units connected to this G4 in particular. one is an internal Pioneer DVR-105, and the other is an external Pioneer DVR-106D. Both are on the compatible devices list. I have run the drive configuration utility for both CD-R and DVD-R for both drives.

I don't get the error when writing CD-R disks, only when writing DVD-R.

This machine is completely inactive with no other software running in the background, and just to confirm, I receive the same errors on another apple ibook.

Sometimes Retrospect will backup 200 mb to a disk and fail, other times 4.3GB. And even more mind throtling, it might make 3-4 disks, and then fail midstream on the next.

I'm running out of backup solutions, i need to find one that actually works. Does anyone know what else might be causing these erros / failures? I'll continue running some tests.. but i know i've got a pile of about 25 DVD-R coasters here as a casulty thus far...

Any help is super appreciated..

feel free to hit me at chris@rocketfactory.com if you want as well..

thanks.

Further testing results here: