DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

caw

To start, I am new at this and do not have an IT or computer background. I have retrospect 7.o with 5 client pack. I tried to back up a client with xp-SP2, (same as my machine), it seems to start but part way thru my machine blue screens with the DRIVER-IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL ERROR.

Under the Techinical Information it show:

*** STOP: 0x000000D1(0x00002000,0x000000ff,0x00000000,0x00000000)

The firewall has been turned off on all our machines on campus by our IT dept.

I am trying to back up desktops onto an external 1TB LaCie drive connected to my machine via firewire card.

Not sure if related, but I used a demo version of Retro 7.0 in Feb before our IT installed SP2 on all the XP machines without a problem.

Does it mention any file name after the "*** STOP" line? Doing a quick Google search and searching for the error on Microsoft's site, this error seems to be caused by bad drivers.

Do you get this error if you backup the local machine? You could try upgrading your network card drivers.

There are no other files mentioned after the STOP line and I can back up my C drive without a problem, its the client XP machine that makes mine blue screen when I try to back up its C drive. I have run the back up on selected folder from the client machine and that works fine as well.

Could there be a system file on the client machine that causes mine to crash?

This machine is the only XP I have to back up, I have not tried it on the Windows 2000 machines yet, but on the XP I uninstalled and reinstalled the Client software, left the original user logged on, even though I am administrator on that machine as well, reconfigured the client in retrospect and it seemed to work this time.

Do the client machines have to have the user logged on or should it be enough just to have the machine on? I was under the assumption that having the machine on is good enough and that I do not even have to be an administrator on the Client machines.