Retro 5/OS X problem kills 4.3/OS 9 as well

My first encounter with Retrospect 5. has been, I fear, a minor disaster.

I'm running OS X 10.1.4/OS 9.2.2 on a Beige G3 minitower (originally 266 MHz, now with a 500 MHz Sonnet ZIF upgrade; 512 MB -- a respectable system that runs OS X quite well, overall.) Backups are to a SCSI APS-branded DVD-RAM drive (a Matshita device; as a driver, I'm using DVD-RAM TuneUp under OS 9 -- it's not needed under OS X). This system that has worked completely reliably for more than a year under Retrospect 4.3. (My experience with Retrospect goes back to version 1.0, BTW.)

My first two attempts to run Retrospect 5 under OS X failed. On the first, after spitting out side one of the first disk in a projected two-disk set, Retrospect refused to recognize the second side of the disk, even though it was plainly visible on the desktop, and could be read from and written to by other applications. On the second attempt -- a "recycle backup" using the disk from the first attempt -- Retrospect again failed to recognize an inserted disk, this time the first side of the second disk in the series. This time, Retrospect locked up my Mac so utterly that I was forced to physically reboot the machine several times -- it refused to make it past the initial blue screen until I powered down the SCSI DVD-RAM drive. (That took a bit of figuring out; I've never seen that before.)