Mysterious error message in Retrospect - plus general questions

dhbn

Hi all,

Let me first say that I'm new to Retrospect. I recently acquired Retrospect software together with a Maxtor OneTouch external hard disk. I have made several functioning backup scripts as well as a complete, immediate backup and a Disaster Recovery CD. However, one script causes a mysterious error message. I have made a duplicate script that moves files from one particular folder on my internal hard disk to the Maxtor drive. For some reason, each time I run the script via a run document, Retrospective opens with an error message that says: "Retrospect cannot run in Disaster Recovery mode; error reading run document. Please contact Dantz Technical Support for assistance." - even though the script has nothing to do with disaster recovery! I have re-made the run document, and I have even deleted the script and re-made it, but the problem remains. The problem does not occur when I run the script via the run menu in the Retrospect program, nor does it occur with any other script. I have Windows XP, and Retrospect is version 6.0.222. Can anyone help?

I also have a number of general questions regarding the use of Retrospect. I hope someone will have the patience to answer or comment on them - perhaps only on some of them, any input will be much appreciated! And please note: although the questions are rather long, the answers can be very short, unless I have misunderstood it all!