Retrospect: how to eliminate error -1017 (insufficient permissions)?

teehole

Hello, 1-4-4

I bought Retrospect-Pro 6.5, see 1 error message, merely starting a normal (recycled) backup to another partition. The error log states:

"Can't use Open File Backup option for Drive C (C:), error -1017 (insufficient permissions)"

I'm new to WinXP, (...10 days new, it's much different than W98). and need a reliable disaster-backup a.s.a.p.

Can't get past that lone -1017 error message. Read forum posts about it, still don't know what to do.

I have Retrospect Pro 6.5 for Windows, latest update 6.5.336, running XP-Pro with FAT-32 partitions.

Thanks, Matt

p.s. I 'replied' to another post with the same problem, but not sure if it's still viewable. or archived.

I forgot to add one more thing, about the 'error -1017' I keep seeing:

Right after installing Retrospect-6.5, every time I boot the computer, floppy-disk drive A: does a seek, although nothing's in the floppy A: drive. It did not do that before the install.

When doing any type of backup, right before the 'error -1017' message appears, Retrospect does another floppy-disk A: seek, then the error-message appears.

Don't know if this is part of the error problem, but they happen almost simultaneously (A: drive seek, quickly followed by -1017 error).

Matt

Hi

Until you can get shadow copy up and running again your best bet is to turn off open file backup in your backup options.

Shadow copy is run by the Volume Shadow copy service. I believe just starting the service will re-enable shadow copy for you.

Nate

Nate, 1-5-4

Thanks for responding, I could use the help, switching from W98 to

XP-Pro about 7 days ago (big learning curve with XP, then Retrospect).

I checked (using WinXP's own backup/Advanced settings), the "Disabled

Volume Shadow Copy" setting is un-checked, so I'm guessing it's enabled

and set proper? As you mentioned, it probably reset itself.