error -557 (transaction already complete) - what's the answer?

shapwolf

I'm running Retrospect 6.5 build 336 on a Windows 2003 Standard Server, trying to backup a server running NT 4 SP6a, running client 6.5.132.

Problem: When I try to access the drives (e.g. instant backup, preview), I get error -557 (transaction already complete). I've searched the Dantz site and found no elaboration on this error. I've read all the posts on this, and followed the advice about rebooting both machines --- no joy, same error.

The operations log just has this:

"Can't access volume c-srl2 (C:) on SRL2, error -557 (transaction already complete)"

(repeats for each volume it failed to access) (singularly unhelpful log, IMHO)

I can successfully backup other machines on the network, including an identical server sitting right next to the troublesome one. Both are HP LC III Netservers; identical hardware and software. All are connected to the same 10/100 switch.

I'm new to Retrospect and having enough trouble learning its ways without these problems. It doesn't look from the earlier problems posted on this same error as if anyone ever gave a technical answer to what the cause of this error is, and how to track down the culprits?

Does that kind of support happen here? This is my first post on this board, surprise me, please!

Thanks!

Hi

This is a new one to me. Any chance you can try dropping a second NIC into the NT machine? Either that or reinstalling the existing NIC drivers would be a good place to start.

At first glance it seems like it could be a data buffering problem of some kind. Try slowing the NIC down to 10Mb and see if that helps.

You can also try an older version of the Retrospect client software. The client was redone for 6.5 - but the 6.0 client is still compatible with Retro 6.5. ftp://ftp.dantz.com/pub/updates/client_60.exe

Nate