Dirty Head Error Messages on all backups

Hi, I've been using Retrospect for many, many years. I just recently bought a Jan 08- 8 core mac pro Running 10.5.2 Leopard.

I'm running Retrospect Backup v6.1.230.

I only use Retrospect for Archiving to DVD-R and this is my first time trying to archive files on this machine. When I run an archive operation, I get repeated errors like this:

Trouble reading: “32-archive 2005†(1056), error 206 (drive reported a failure: dirty heads, bad media, etc.).
	File “MU-splitframe.mov†appears incomplete, path: “MARRIAGE UNCENSORED/AE Renders/MU-splitframe.movâ€.

If I try to go back and restore the files, it seems to work just fine, and the restored files seem to be OK. Naturally though I'm VERY afraid to delete the original files from my archive folder for fear that there might be something wrong witht the backup set.

This is a very new machine,and I have no problems reading or writing discs using finder or toast.

has anyone else encountered this?

Thanks

Edited by Guest

thanks Robin for the reply. Here is my drive info from system profiler:

PIONEER DVD-RW  DVR-112D:

Firmware Revision:	BC14
 Interconnect:	ATAPI
 Burn Support:	Yes (Apple Shipping Drive)
 Cache:	0 KB
 Reads DVD:	Yes
 CD-Write:	-R, -RW
 DVD-Write:	-R, -RW
 Write Strategies:	CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO
 Media:	Insert media and refresh to show available burn speeds

The Retrospect 6.1 driver update version is 6.1.15.101

And the media I'm using are comp-usa branded DVD-R's. My current storage set uses about 30 of these same discs that I had archived to on my older G-5 machine before I got the new macpro. I never had a media related issue before.

Thanks

Rob

Hi Robin, I think you misunderstand me. It now happens on all disks. in the archive I just finished there were 8 disks, and it did the same thing on all of them.