Cannot access retrospect folder after reinstall of Windows XP

sconroy777

Hi, I am a newbie to the forum but glad to have found it. I recent "duplicated" all my data on my hard drive before performing a format and reinstall of Windows XP Home Edition. I am having 2 problems:

1. I was the primary account on my previous computer with the logon name Stealth. The account had admin priviledges and my computer name was SOS. I backed up most of my data files to the Stealth's Documents folder.

Now, after creating the same username "Stealth" and naming to computer "SOS", I can gain access to all of the other folders that were duplicated but not to the Stealth Documents. It gives me an error message to the effect of you cannot access this folder or you do not have priviledges or something along those lines.

Has anyone encountered this and if so, is there a work around? I really need to get to that data in a bad way.

2. This is less important but I followed the installation instructions and when trying to connect to the web or to my installation CD, Windows XP could not inf the correct driver and I get an error message that the device might not work properly but I can still see the device and access the files except for as noted above. I have Windows XP home edition and the latest version of Retrospect Light.

Thank you! I know this was a long post.

Thank you for your reply. Yes, my Stealth user account is set-up as an administrator account. I tried to create an administrator account using the user name "administrator" and Windows said that the administrator account already exists but it does not show up in the users area of the control panel?

Hi - I am still having trouble accessing the folder on my retrospect express back-up drive. The exact error message is "H:\Backup of Drive C\Documents and Settings\Stealth\ is not accessible. Access is denied."