Retrospect 5.1 cannot write to Mammoth Tape Drive

jfreund

I am at wit's end!

Retropect Backup Workgroup 5.1 ( Retrospect 5.15)

Exabyte Exb-8900 Mammoth Tape Drive SCSI

SCSI Controller Adaptec AHA-2940UW

Driver - Microsoft 5.0.2195.6717 (6/17/03) mammoth.sys

--- The Problem

I had been using this system as our backup server for almost two years without a problem. On day, my tape backups started to fail. No error was posted, the backup would simply ask for another tape, it would wind through it without copying a file, then ask for another tape.

Performing an Immediate Backup with an erased tape it will sit with 1 file completed on its status dialog box until it reacjes the end of the tape which takes a long time.

--- Nothing wrong with Drive

I long ago determined that there was nothing wrong with the tape drive (long story). At this time, if I restore the Removable Storage service I can use Ms Wibdow's Backup to write tapes.

--- Reinstall of Windows Fixed problem for a short time

I recently did a clean install of Windows 2000 Pro. After re-installing Retrospect the tape drive worked!! Of course I was installing other software including the Windows Updates. When I nexted ran the backup, it was back to its old tricks.

--- everything else works

In every other way retrospect seems to work. It erases tapes. It can read and restore from my past tapes.

---Suspected Problem

I suspect the driver. Its dated 6/2003. This problem first surfaced in 10/2003 (yes I have been working on this a while. Retrospect does not seem to install its own driver, but it does disable the Removable Storage service.

--- Help

Is there anyone who can give me a clue?

Thanks for your Help

John Freund

I never had to disable the driver in the past and as far as I know retrospect does not install another driver for this (Exabyte Mammoth) tape drive.