Carob Posted December 16, 2003 Report Share Posted December 16, 2003 I'm hoping someone can answer this for me. I have the Server version of Retrospect running on a Mac and PC and the same thing happens on both. I currently have two 6 month sets that are reused every 6 months. One for the 1st half of the year and one for the 2nd half of the year. Let's call them "A" and "B". When "B" is finished, the tapes from "A" are reused for a new catlog that will cover the 1st half of the next year (I hope that makes sense). As soon as the first tape is erased for the new catalog, the entire "A" catalog from the previous year is not useable. It's like it never existed. A search can't even be done to recover files from the tapes that haven't been erased yet. This is the part that doesn't make sense to me. The way I figure it, the previous "A" catalog should still be in tact and files should be able to be recovered from the tapes that haven't been reused yet. The first thing you are probably thinking is that I'm overwriting the previous "A" catalog with the new one. That isn't the case. When the new "A" catalog is started there are a total of three. The previous "A" catalog, the "B" catalog and the new "A" catalog. This is consistant on both platforms so there must be something to it, I just don't understand why this is happening. The way the catalogs are setup, it shouldn't be happening. I don't know if this is a bug or what. If anyone has any thoughts, I'd like to hear them. Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.