Media ready - NOT

westbys

Hi. I'm new to Retrospect (5.6) so maybe this is a known problem, though I couldn't find anything when I searched..

My automatic overnight backups work fine unless I use the "Check Media" facility when exiting Retrospect after checking the log for the previous nights run.

As long as I don't check, the following nights run goes OK. If I do, then it reports that the media is ready and then leaves it unready, so the run fails.

Obviously I could just not check, or just remove and reinsert the tape (Seagate 20GB Tapestor using Travan 10/20 GB tapes) but ideally I'd like to hand this over to an administrator with a working set of instructions which include checking the tape is ready.

Any Ideas?

Thanks Steve

Quote:

As long as I don't check, the following nights run goes OK. If I do, then it reports that the media is ready and then leaves it unready, so the run fails.

Can you clarify what you mean by this?

Try this:

Go to Automate > Check

Check the script and the media

If everything looks okay - repeat the proceedure.

If everything still looks okay, quit/relaunch repeate proceedure. Is the media available?

What OS? What is the interface? USB? Firewire? IDE? SCSI? How is it configured? On chain with other devices? Master? Slave? On a hub? Through a docking station?

Any other backup software installed on this computer?

• 2 weeks later...

I had two of those seagate travan 10/20 drives and saw a similar behavior. It seems like the tape goes missing or is unreadable, even after you check media and the check says your ready to go. Now, I didn't see a difference if I checked the media or not so it might be a different situation, the backup just wouldn't work. My problem seemed more dependant on the tape but the issue was very inconsistent.

I found that when you set up the tape set if you un-check use compression the problem goes away, but you have to re-setup the tape jobs.