terminal services

hi,

we have retrospect backup server v5.6 on a win2k server in a secure room that we administrate via terminal services. when i try running retrospect via a terminal services session, i get "process already in use". i often need to go to the physical server and kill the process at the console since terminal services manager doesnt let me kill it remotely.

how do folks deal with remote administration of retrospect? (btw, software like winVNC and timbuktu arent options for this machine- we want to avoid console logins and any extra software that might compromise security in the future)

also, i was fairly distressed to find that this doesnt run as a service. it seems to run in a user context of the console user. (i'm just learning retrospect, so i might be missing something. but it was surprising to find "server-class" software behave like souped-up end-user software). it also seems like i need to stop retrospect in order to do any configuration (like adding a new job), and then start it again. is that normal?

-Drew

hi,

another tidbit...

the 'retrospect launcher' service is running, which says its supposed to automatically start retrospect when a script is ready to run.

i started retrospect, added a script (a weekly, to execute later that night), quit retrospect, verified that the launcher service was still running, checked the next day, and the script hadnt run! verified that the launcher service was still running- it was. started retrospect, and it tried executing the script then.

is this right? do i need to be constantly logged into the computer and running retrospect in order for scripts to run? or do i need to quit and restart the launcher service every time i add a new script?

-drew

Howdy,