Strange phenomena

I am running Retrospect 6.1 on an iMac G5 (second series.) When I do a nomal backup, it completes OK. But when I duplicate the Macantosh HD to a partition on the same fire-wire hard drive I use for backup, I get one error. It is always the same file, in Library/cache. I have "selection" set to "All except caches" Does this work for "duplicate" as well as for "Backup?" (I use the "Duplicate" to have a bootable disk to run DiskWarrior against the normal boot drive.) When I run DiskWarrior" against the "Dupe" volume, it always corrects coding errors in the font folder, but the oly time it found any coding errors on the usual boot drive was after a restore from "yesterday's" backup to get rid of some junk I shouldn' have downloaded! Can anyone offer any enlightenment on why I am getting errors on duplicates and restored drives, but not in normal backups. I'm new to the MAC, and am still learning.

Thanks

Quote:

Does this work for "duplicate" as well as for "Backup?"

Yes, if you've got the same selector chosen for the duplicate as for the backup. Do you?

Also, what is the error? It might be something innocuous such as the file changing size while the backup is going on, etc.

Finally, "duplicate" will not necessarily give a bootable drive if you are duplicating a live system. If you "duplicate" while booted from another disk other than the one being duplicated, then you've got a chance, depending on what the selectors are and some other factors. "duplicate" does not equal "clone snapshot".

Russ

Thanks, Russ, the error is "date andf time" during compare. I can boot from the duped disk. I've decided not to worry abou it. But I do wonder what's oing on.

Quote:

Errors that report different Modify Date/Time can be ignored. They just mean the file changed during the backup process.