Retrospect can no longer access catalog

Hi There,

I've been running this setup for many years but all of a sudden, Retrospect no longer has access to the catalog file. Because I have a laptop with limited space, the catalog lives on an external disk and the .rbc file is 64GB.

When I click 'Locate' I can only navigate to the enclosing folder, I can't go into the folder to select the catalog. I've tried running First Aid from Disk Utility and I can obviously access the disk in the Finder but Retrospect can't go into the directory for some reason.

Are there permissions I should check or is there some way to give Retrospect access?

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers, Ben

• Retrospect 19.2
  • MacOS 13.5

Screenshot 2023-12-12 at 10.10.30 PM.jpg

Retrospect seems to have access to the containing folder, as it can see it from the 'Repair' screen (attached) but if I click 'Next' no member gets added to the list, and nothing happens when I click the repair button. Unless I'm misunderstanding how that screen works.

I've also checked that Retrospect has 'Full Disk Access' which it does (see attached).

And if I right-click the catalogue and choose 'Open with' MacOS recognises the .rbc file as a Retrospect file. But If I try to open the .rbc file, Retrospect hangs every time (also attached).

Does anyone know how to fix? I'm happy to run some Terminal commands if that's easier?

Cheers, Ben

Screenshot 2023-12-14 at 6.42.32 AM.jpg

Screenshot 2023-12-14 at 6.48.22 AM.jpg

Screenshot 2023-12-14 at 7.02.54 AM.jpg

Edited by sciascia1
Added full disk access and force quit screenshots.

Thanks for the extensive list of actions you've done, that helps rule out a few things.