Deleted Files Not On Backup

I'm fairly certain my confusion here is because I'm a newbie to Retrospect. I had successfully set up backup scripts on our Mac Mini Server, and all was working well... until someone discovered they had accidentally deleted some files from the server, several days previously. The backup had ran since and when I went to do a restore, it had seemingly overwrote what had been there a week prior. The missing files were still missing. It was indeed all the files currently on the server, but I was under the impression that Retrospect did incremental backups... leaving what was on the original backup and only ADDING to, not overwriting.

So I'm sure I've probably misconfigured something along the way, and need some help. How can I make sure all files on a busy server have been safely backed up somewhere? There's always a chance someone will move or delete something, and not figure it out until later. I want to be sure a backup was kept at some time. Does this have something to do with grooming? I've tried to understand, and seemingly fail, to understand quite how it works.

Thanks much!

At least in the Windows version, only the last backup (per source) is listed as the default.

See page 154: http://www.purplerage.com/support/manuals/Retrospect/Retrospect%20for%20Mac%20V8%20Users%20Guide.pdf

Maybe you need to click the "More backups" button seen on the screenshot?

Thanks for the reply... I tried that, and backups for that particular script do not appear, only the most recent one.

I was under the impression that Retrospect did incremental backups... leaving what was on the original backup and only ADDING to, not overwriting.

That is correct; you have to go very far out of your way to get Retrospect to delete anything it's already written to whatever Media Set Member you're using.