Retrospect 6 And A Very Slow 8.

Hi Guys!

I have been using Retrospect 6 for many many years. I am now using a registered trial version of 8. Unfortunately, the 8 is painfully slow. I am using exactly the same setup for both 6 and 8. Backing up a HD with 70 GB of data results in a speed of around 500 MB/m using 6 and 20-40 MB/m using 8. This is not what I expected! I know there are others having the same problem, but I have not seen any relevant answers so far. I have not bought the software yet, but would like to ...... Also, how to exclude folders and its content is very easy to understand in 6, but in 8 ............ No success so far. Appreciate a response for this before trial license expires in 4 weeks. Regards, Henrik.

Edited by HenrikFortaleza

PowerBook G4 with OSX 10.5.8. Backed up to external LaCie HD through FireWire 800.

Retrospect 8 is optimized for Intel Macs and "little endian". A PowerPC is "big endian", so a LOT of byte swapping takes place which reduces performance. You can get acceptable performance from a G5, but not from a G4 or G3.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Endianness

Retrospect 8 is optimized for Intel Macs and "little endian". A PowerPC is "big endian", so a LOT of byte swapping takes place which reduces performance. You can get acceptable performance from a G5, but not from a G4 or G3.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Endianness

OK, thanks! I am in the process of buying a new Mac with i5 so that will solve the problem. However, I would also appreciate an answer on my problem to setup a rule to exclude a folder and its content. What should be used in the drop down menus?

-Henrik

I would also appreciate an answer on my problem to setup a rule to exclude a folder and its content. What should be used in the drop down menus?