Understanding Proactive a bit better. . .

Humptydank

Hello!

I'm the tech guy for a small company, and I'm not a backup pro, but I'm the best we have so forgive the newbieish questions. :-)

We're evaluating Retrospect, and one of the major attractions for us was the Proactive backup feature. In particular we have a remote workstation that, although it's on a broadband connection, isn't always up and the connection isn't always reliable.

The initial backup is big, 35 gig, and if I'm reading things right should take about 4 days of transfer time to complete. It's nearly guaranteed to be disconnected many times before it's done, but if I understand Proactive correctly it should then re-schedule itself and try again.

My questions are:

-- On some previous tries, I saw in the logs a whole series of attempts, each getting more files as Proactive re-connected and went about its business. How do I then know when I have a completed backup set? Among the multiple tries it's very hard to determine which errors were corrected on later attempts, etc. Is there an easy way to tell when the initial backup has completed and we've achieved at least the first level of safety?

-- I assume that once the full backup is completed, then the progressive backups will be considereably less time under normal usage of the machine?