back Up To Eternal Hard Disk - When Disk Is Full Stops Backing Up!

Trevorc

Gents,

I hope you can help me with my backup problem. I am a novice Retrospect user, and am outside the 1 month free support offered by emc (nice to see they look after their customers!)

My back up - I am currently backing up about 70gb of data to a 250gb external hard drive with the back up scrpt being called "1-backup SetA" It has been set up to keep the last 10 versions of each file on normal back up mode.

The back up has been working fine, and quickly also. The problem i have is that the back up external disk is now full. I had at this point expected the back up software to delete the older versions where appropriate and instead of keeping the last 10 keep the last 5. Instead the back up fails to find the media and instead of looking for "1-backup Set A" is now looking for "2-backup Set A" Very Odd!!!

I can appreciate that there must be a setting that i am no selecting. I know i can format the disk and back up again, but i dont want to do that every few weeks or month!

Many thanks for your help in advance.

Kind Regards

Trevor Clatworthy

Howdy Trevor;

I have the same problem you have. I decided tp groom down from the last 10 to all but the last 3 backups but still have only 5mb of space left on a 250 gb drive and can't figure out how to free it up so I can continue to backup on this drive without having to essentially reformat it. I think the dialogue at the end of the grooming session said it removed about 23gb, but a directory of the hard drive says there is still only 5+mb free. I can find nothing in the manual or in the help pages to begin solve this problem. I even thought of defragging the backup drive, but there is not even enough space left to do that.???

ANY help will be appreciated by me as well.

Thanks up front,

Abakadabra

Do the Retro backup directories show that those files are taking up all the space (e.g. 250GB).