Hi there,

I'm having a retrospect-based nightmare.

I had 2 backup drives, on which I run a bunch of scripts and rotate the drives each week so that one is always off site.

Both drives have recently died, leaving me with no backup. I've purchased replacement drives but can't seem to set them up to function as the old ones did.

The catalogue files for the scripts were on the old drives and I can't get retrospect to recreate them. The retrospect manual and online help seems quite hard to fathom, it describes the situation where a catalog file is lost but then doesn't provide clear instructions on how to recreate them.

As you can probably tell from my question, I'm new to retrospect and I don't have a detailed understanding of the software.

Thanks for any help and solutions you can provide, its really appreciated.

The catalogue files for the scripts were on the old drives and I can't get retrospect to recreate them. The retrospect manual and online help seems quite hard to fathom, it describes the situation where a catalog file is lost but then doesn't provide clear instructions on how to recreate them.

You can only recreate the catalog files if you have the backup itself. But you don't, since they were on the drives that died.

I would create new backup sets and use that as the destination in the old scripts, assuming you do have the scripts intact. Otherwise you will have to create the scripts from scratch, too.

Hi,

thanks for the reply, its very helpful.

Now I know that I need to, I can create the scripts from scratch and restore the backup function.

However, I'm having trouble getting retrospect to recognise the new removable hard drive.

The drive is an Iomega 2TB, connected using firewire.

I've formatted the drive as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) as instructed by the retrospect manual.

I've written the backup file for a new script onto the drive.