Maxtor HD no longer recognized

kevinl

I have been using retrospect express 5.6 to BU my HD onto my Maxtor 5000LE external HD (USB connection). I thought I had been doing this succesfully for a 5 to 6 months, but have realized that my automatic backups have not been occuring as planned for a few months. In checking things out, Retrospect does not seem to recognize the drive, and under "status", shows no backup devices found. Under "Environment", the maxtor drive does show up. The drive is also accesible through windows explorer. Since the BU procedure was working, I no it is possible, but can not figure out what has gone wrong. I would be happy to just delete the previos BU info and start fresh, but would like to keep a number of files I have stored on the external HD if possible. In order to do anything though, I will first need to get Retrospect to recognize the Maxtor drive.

Whenever I try to use Retrospect, the red light on the Maxtor drive flashes and it is spinning, however the program locks up, and I can not even close it. Must shut down system some times in order to end program.

Any help, or pointers of where to go would be very much appreciated.

Info:

OS - winxp Professional

Drive - <20% full

Regards, Kevin Luckhart

See the following tutorial for setup help on backing up to hard drives. You can delete the file backup set that is currently on the Maxtor drive.

http://www.dantz.com/index.php3?SCREEN=kbase&ACTION=KBASE&id=27447

Quote:

Whenever I try to use Retrospect, the red light on the Maxtor drive flashes and it is spinning, however the program locks up, and I can not even close it. Must shut down system some times in order to end program.