Retrospect stalls during B&W and Silver backup

Hi,

Can someone please help me? I have been strugling with retrospect for a few months now trying to backup my Blue and White and Silver Macintosh from another desktop with the retrospect server installed in it. I have some PCs and Macs connected via a hub 10/100baseT; all the PCs backup with no problem. Also, I have a couple of Beidge Macs on that same network and they backup fine. As soon as the script start the first B&W machine it hangs. I usually starts my script overnight so, there is noone using the machines when the backup is running. I have tried everything possible; I was working with a tech from retrospect, he abandonned me when we could not solve the problem. If anyone has been through that tortuous experiment, please let me know how you dealt with that problem.

Thank you

Please provide more information - you indicated you worked with Technical Support on this issue, but have provided no details as to the troubleshooting you have done so far to solve this. You've isolated the problem to a single computer, if I'm reading your post correctly. What have you done in regards to this computer?

If there is more then one computer involved, what do they have in common?

Same network segment?

What Operating System are you using? What details can you give us?

Thank You AmyC.

the problem is not on one machine only. I have about 12 PCs and 10 Macs on the network that retrospect backs up. In my backup script, I have all the PCs list on top and they back up with no problem. When the backup start the first Mac it hangs. I does not matter which of the Macs I list first it will hang as long as it is a Blue and White or a Silver Mac running OS between 9.1 to 9.2.2.