Sorry i'm so new to the whole Retrospect backing up. Im just used to burning 2 DVD's of data of the same thing and then deleting the source so it doesn't take up space! Old school!

So anyway to answer the questions...

1. What are the sources for your backup (i.e., the data you want backed up and where this data is located)?

2 folders on my Desktop on my Macintosh HD.

2. Where is your destination (Backup Set A) located?

It is located on my External hard drives. I do multiple backups onto 2 hard drives so i have a Backup Set A HD1 & Backup Set A HD2.

3. Why do think you may want to delete the folders on your desktop?

I want to delete the folders because the 2 folders are getting to about 50 GB each and i want to start freeing space on my computer hard drive. The thing is where i'm a music producer im constantly adding new project to the 2 folders so i never delete it on my desktop i just leave it in them. And then over night Retospect backs up whatever i've added during the day to Backup Set A. So really it's neverending and the 2 folders on my computers desktop will just get bigger.

So what im asking is should i delete the folders on my desktop then start a new Backup set put the stuff i do from now on in the new backup set, so i can free space on my computers HD?

Thanks,

Guy

Edited by Guest

I can't see that you gain anything by deleting the two desktop source folders unless you no longer need ready access to any of their contents. Might it not make more sense to trash just those projects that are no longer active?

If you did want to completely trash both source folders, there is no need to start a new backup set unless you wanted to do that. You could simply create a new folder or two, define them as subvolumes in Configure> Volumes, and use them as new sources in your backup script.