What is the best configuration for my environment?

WSposato

Hi All -

I use Retrospect Pro 7.5.387 (Driver + Hot Fix V. 7.5.12.103) on Windows XP Professional and want to perform the most efficient backup strategy. Unfortunately, I have zero experience using Retrospect "backup sets" and I believe that what I currently have configured is either wrong or not the best way to use the software. Here is my current configuration and how I am performing my backups:

I have two 10K RPM drives in RAID 0 with a combined capacity of 150GB. These are partitioned into C:, D:, E: and F: NTFS volumes and contain all of my applications.

I also have two 7K RPM drives in RAID 0 with a combined capacity of 600GB. There are partitioned into G:, H:, I: and J: NTFS volumes and contain multimedia data for the most part.

Lastly, I have a 50GB OnStream SCSI tape drive and a Plextor CD/ROM R/W drive and a Plextor DVD R/W drive to back up to. Of course, I prefer to use the tape drive at least for my "full" backups and use the DVD R/W drive for disaster recovery. Currently, I use Acronis True Image to snapshot my C: drive as I have no experience with the Retrospect disaster recovery solution, but, if you have experience with both of these products and feel that Retrospect is better, please let me know and I will gladly use it for everything.