Basic Set-up Recommendations

Hello

I am a new user of Retrospect. I am a photographer by trade/background and as part of our new business I have inherited Retrospect. So I am just trying to figure out the best methods to use with the program. Warning!!! I am not an expert in these matters, so enter at your own risk! I have looked over the manual a bit and have gone thru a successful back up, but before I continue, I wanted to touch base with seasoned users.

For reference, I have a 2 x 2.66 HHz Dual Core machine with an Intel processeor & 2 500GB internal HDs. I also have a LaCie d2 extreme external HD. Because I am always working on images, and other projects, I would like to schedule a daily BU of info. My initial thought is to BU the main HD on both the 2nd internal HD and the external LaCie.

I noticed that when I BU to a drive I have to erase the drive in order to use it. It seemed to make sense to partition the drives once I erased them to allocate use for the backup info as weell as have space other uses. Not sure if this was the best thing to do though?

Obviously, my intent is to have multiple BUs (internal & external) that are synchrized with eachother, and it would be nice to have a script(s) that accomplish this automatically on a daily basis. Does anyone have suggestions set-up suggestions?

Many Thanks.

Cheers!

Dave

cool.gif

Quote:

I noticed that when I BU to a drive I have to erase the drive in order to use it

That depends on whether you are using a "file" backup set or a removable disk backup set. The manual explains the differences.

Basically, with a file backup set, the backup is stored as a file on the drive. Disadvantage is that the backup set cannot grow to be larger than the available space on the drive. Advantage is that you have a regular filesystem on the drive, and can store other files there, and can copy the backup set somewhere else using normal Mac tools.