Configuring DVD drive for multiple formats

Hi, I've been using Retrospect for 3-4 years, but do not consider myself to be an expert.

I run regular hard drive backups at work and home. Because I keep all but the current member of my work backup set at home, I had the brilliant idea to use the restore file function to access work files when I'm not in the office. The backups are in different formats, so I attempted to configure my home DVD writer for a second format. After I did this, I could access the work files, but the home backup discs wasn't recognized. When I re-configured the drive for the home format I lost the work format.

Is it possible to configure this DVD drive for 2 formats?

Details

Retrospect 7.5 (work), 6.5 (home)

TSST TS-L632D writer (un-supported?)

work format = DVD+R

home format = DVD-R

Many thanks for your sage advice. Peter

Most, if not all, readers can READ both formats. However, +R media can only be written in +R format, etc. +R and -R are technologies, and the writers must write according to the media type. Once the media is written, most readers can read all formats of media.

Perhaps I'm not understanding what you are asking. Have you tried writing +R disks at home?

Russ

Sorry for the confusion: My home DVD writer (TSST TS-L632D) is DVD+-RW, so it recognizes/reads, and writes/burns, to -R and +R media using applications other than Retrospect. I cannot get Retrospect to read a backup set from both formats simultaneously.

I would like to have Retrospect continue to create my home backup set, but have the opportunity to restore files from the work back up set.

Hi Peter