Error 205 with HP StorageWorks DAT 40 USB (DW022A)

Hello!

I have recently purchased the abovementioned DAT drive after years of DVD-backup. At first everything seemed to go well. Retrospect 6.1 under Mac OS X found the drive, erased the tape, rewound it and then - before beginning the write process - displayed an error 205 (connection lost). This happens invariably no matter what I do. I have tried all fixes for 205 errors I found on EMCInsignia's support pages and in this forum (Swap USB-ports, replace cables, buy original HP tapes, etc, etc.). And what is really miraculous: The same tape drive works just fine with Retrospect 6.5 under Windows XP SP 2. Does anybody have an idea? I would be really grateful.

Hardware:

• MacBook Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GHz, 2 GB RAM
  • HP StorageWorks DAT 40 USB (DW022A)

Software:

• Mac OS X 10.4.8
  • Retrospect 6.1.126
  • RDU 6.1.2.109

Hi Russ,

thanks for the quick reply. Sorry, my fault, I'm still new to the world of forums, and simply forgot information.

In fact, the device is even fully supported. It has an old (discontinued) part number by HP, which is C5683A. (It also identifies itself with that number in the Retrospect's device list.) If you search for that, you will find it as one of three supported devices under the number.

(There is only thing that puzzles me, Retrospect 6.0 and RDU 6.4.102 are listed as minumum requirements on MAC OS. I am using Retrospect 6.1 and RDU 6.1.9.102, which is the most current version. I don't recall ever having seen an RDU 6.4.102., well perhaps its 6.0.4.102...)

Any other ideas?

Thanxxx

painter

Hi Russ,