Can't get event handler to start

I've been using Retrospect for 9 years and have had good experience using Retrospect's event handlers on OS 9.

I'm reasonably proficient in Applescript. I've haven't used the event handlers for a few years now, and now I'm

trying to get simple event handlers to work on Tiger with Retrospect 6.1 on Intel Mac. My problem is that I can't get

Retrospect to start the event handler app at all. My event handler was taken from Retrospect's sample one (I've tried

several, even one of the send-mail examples). I have uncommented all handlers and have cut them all down to just

displaying a dialog box so I know that each was invoked. Nothing comes up, regardless of restarting Retrospect,

rebooting, etc. No dialog on Retrospect startup, quit, script startup, script end, nothing.

What is curious is that when I go into the Script Editor and open my Retrospect Event Handler (which I have

placed in /Library/Preferences/Retrospect (the top level one, not my user one, is that right?) and go to Save As

the "Stay Open" check box is unchecked even though I had saved it that way, as an application (I had read in the

Retrospect User's Guide that it should be saved with the "Stay Open" option on -- Yes, I'm so desparate that I'm even

reading documentation!) Sometimes the "Startup Screen" comes up checked even though I hadn't specified it when

I saved it previously. So, I have little confidence that my Retrospect Event Handler is in the proper condition for it to

run.

Getting this to work is critical for me. Before a script runs, I want to make sure the client to be backed up is

not sleeping. Retrospect doesn't wake up a client that is sleeping. So, with the event handler for scripts

starting, I can activate the cool WakeOnLan free utility to wake up the client. If I can get this to work, I'll gladly

share this with the rest of you!

But first, can you help me just get basic event handler to run with Retrospect?

Thanks!

Quote: