Jump to content

new drive copied from old -- retrospect calls it new volume


Recommended Posts

On Win2K Pro -- I copied all data from an old drive (D:AUDIO) to a new, larger drive (also D:AUDIO). The new volume serial number is the same as the old. However, Retrospect 5.5 thinks it is a new volume. How can I tell Retrospect it already backed up this drive (before the I copied it)? This drive is part of a backup set that takes 48hrs. to back up, so I don't want to redo it if possible.

 

Thanks for any help.

 

--paul g

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Retrospect actually doesn't match by location by default. In other words, just moving the data to a new volume in and of itself would not trigger anything in Retrospect. However, from an OS perspective, file attributes have changed in the move process - dates, times, sizes, etc.

 

You can go to Configure > Backup Sets > Properties > Snapshots to see what the file(s) looked like during the original backup (browse a snapshot and get Properties on a file) which you could then compare to a Properties box for the same file as it exists on the hard drive now. This may show you what changed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...