BackUp to SCSI tape drive stalls after 0.01 megs copied

I'm a new Admin taking over an existing Retrospect Backup system. Basically the old admin updated to 10.4 and everything broke. Mainly because their SCSI card isn't supported in 10.4, it's an Orange Micro Grappler 930u.

We downloaded Advansys drivers and got the SCSI card to be recognized. As well both tape drives, were easily recognized. One is a Sony AIT-1 Drive in a SCSI case, the other is a DDS2 4mm drive in a SCSI case. Both drives can recognize tapes, recognize if the wrong tape is in the drive, read the names of the tapes, as well as format and rename tapes. However when ever I try to do a new backup on a new tape, or recover data off of an existing tape. It starts the process fine, rewinds the tape, and begins searching, finds the file, or begins to write the file.... but then it stalls.

Initially it reports a great read and write speed, but that quickly slows down. As well looking at the amount transfered it always reads 0.01 or 0.1 (I forget which and am not in front of the server now). Anyhoo, it stays stalled on that number for hours, even all night. It never errors out and never finishes, it just keeps trying to transfer the rest of the data.

If oft times rewinds again, as if it played to the end of the tape, and is now trying to find the data again. But never finishes.

I tried a few different set ups. All produce the same results. Makes me wonder is I simply have a setting wrong. Bellow are the listed setups I've tried.

10.4.5 with Grappler 906f and 930u, both tape drives, new tape, existing tape

10.3.9 with Grappler 906f and 930u, both tape drives, new tape, existing tape

10.2.8 with Grappler 906f and 930u, both tape drives, new tape, exsiting tape

Also, we are running nightly backups to hard drive. They work flawlessly. So the program is working, just not with our SCSI tape drives.