I'm using Retrospect 6.0.193 on a mac server running OS10.3 and back up to a Lacie tape cartridge on an automated schedule.

Apparently the backup is backing up several gigs of hidden files as well as the file I need. If there any way to stop backing up the hidden files?

• 10 months later...

I'm also having trouble with what I think are "hidden" files. I'm new to a Macintosh environment so I'm sure most of my issues can be resolved with some Mac knowledge.

I'm trying to trim down a set of backup scripts that our company runs for backing up users' desktops. Currently, each of the backups (just "duplicates") contains around 20-30 GB. This is generally from duplicating each user's directory. There are many redundant files in these directories so I'm building "Selectors" and using them in my script definitions. They are pretty simple, just identifying local Entourage database backups and local Microsoft data (Microsoft User Data\Office 2004 Identities\Main Identity [backed up...) backups.

This works great and has reduced the data size dramatically (duhh...eliminate duplicate copies of the largest files -> Entourage databases at 2-6 GB each) but I still get file sets around 8 GB on machines where the user data only totals around 4 GB. When I get directory information (on the Mac) the directory says 8 GB but when I get the same directory information for each of its 4 or 5 containing folders it only adds up to around 4 GB. Using the terminal it looks like there are hidden files that I can't see in "Finder." These are items like: .Trash, .DS_Store, etc.

Since I'm not a Unix expert either I don't want to mess with these too much but I suspect they are contributing to my bloated backups. I tried using a file selector with "starts with" "." but that didn't eliminate the problem. I also tried using the "special folders" "Trash" selector but that didn't work either.

If anyone has any ideas plesae let me know.