How do I duplicate 2 hard drives?

I am rather new to Retrospect Express (v. 6.5.342) and have looked at knowledge base and posts and cannot find this answer. I have a system with 2 hard drives (80 GB and 160 GB) and want to duplicate each drive on an external hard drive (250 GB). I cannot find how to do this. Can someone give me instruction? Thanks.

Definte "duplicate."

Are you looking to just copy your data, data + apps + OS, every used byte, *every* byte?

Do you want to copy it in the same format (e.g. Windows) or is a backup file (only readable by a backup program) OK?

Do you want to be able to boot directly from this "duplicate" or is it OK if this is an image file, all the same data but non-bootable OS, etc.?

I was thinking that it would be safer (more secure) to copy the entire drives...data, apps, OS in the same format (Windows XP). Since I would be doing this over the night, data transfer time is not an issue. I am not interested in booting from the duplicate, though.

I have a ton of storage available in the 250 GB external drive, so I was not concerned about the total duplication, but, maybe if I understood the backup product better, I would consider that a more viable option.

Thanks.

After thinking more on this subject, I wonder if I should use the backup feature instead of the duplicate feature. Seems to me that, unless I plan to boot from the duplicated data, there is no real value to duplicating other than I would not have to use the Retrospect software to retrieve backed-up files.

So, may I have your opinion on backing up vs duplicating? and then the process I should follow to backup both drives (C: and I:) to the external drive (H:)?

Thanks.