Missing Catalogue, et al

I have some hope that this forum is still active b/c I think I saw some entries from 2011. I have spent 4 or 5 hours trying to solve my own problem but have gotten NOWHERE!

I have an old complete C drive back-up on an EHD which I am trying to clean-up. I didn't want to delete this data without looking it over, but it's probably going to end up that it just wasn't worth all this bother.

I have 3 back-up sets, created by Retrospect Express 6.5 on this drive, which is probably 7 or 8 years old, but has worked just fine. I have never tried to restore any of these files before. My current pc runs Vista and won't run my old Retrospect sw so I went to my old laptop which has XP on it, and already had the sw program that originally created the sets and everything in them are rDb files.

The 3 back-up sets are:

"C Drive Complete" created 6/9/07 and is 23.8GB as is,

"Mail", w/ 2 sets created twice in '06 that is 65.8MB, and

"Music Licenses" created 1/4/06 and is only 1MB.

None of these have a catalogue. I do not remember ever being told by the sw when I created the BU's that these catalogues were important. How they got separated from the files I have no idea.

For obvious reasons, I want to access the large set. I don't know whether the email one is for OE or Outlook, but I don't even care about it.

I have tried to open these files from the EHD by right clicking, by running a restore from Retrospect and I have also tried rebuilding the catalogue using the software (sw) "Tools". For whatever reason, the only ones for which it will rebuild a catalogue are the last two... of course the smallest and the ones I don't need.

There must be a way to access this BU store that is 23GB's. I have given a cursory look over the existing threads, but had already spent so much time doing research and working on this, I decided to just write my own thread.

I hope someone can help!