Upgrade from Retrospect 7.6 to 8?

lunadesign

I'm not an expert, nor am I affiliated with Retrospect, just a long-time user. I believe you can safely upgrade from any minor version of 7.x to 8.0. The installers are pretty smart and will tell you if anything is out of order.

If you have clients, don't forget to upgrade the Retrospect Client too.

Mike Hummel

I was just about to upgrade from Retrospect 7.6 to 7.7 and see that Retrospect 8 is now out. Is it possible to upgrade directly from 7.6 to 8 while retaining my backup data and configurations? Or are there special steps I need to follow?

Upgrading Retrospect Professional from 7.7 to 8 has worked for me. Just to be on the safe side I did backup my Backup Sets and configuration before the upgrade just in case something went wrong.

I have not upgraded any client licenses though because of the increased number of included client licenses.

Hope this is helpfull.

I've gone through two site upgrades. I've discovered that there may be some incompatibilities with the 7.7 created catalog files as there were times Retrospect would crash upon initiating a groom. I recreated the catalog files under 8 and that seemed to resolve the issue. Occasionally, I would get a crash when performing a basic backup and recycling the backups seems to help also. However, the more reading I do on the forums, the more I'm seeing it might be due to the instant scan.