Fix for Asian Character Problem?

• 1 month later...

"Still working on these issues?" Dantz has known about the Unicode problem since April 2002, if not earlier. It's hard to believe that it still isn't fixed.

I've been using Retrospect Express for 5 or 6 years and have been happy, for the most part. However, this bug is a deal-killer. I have waited patiently for a fix. Instead, Dantz has eliminated Express and left the bug unfixed. You expect me to pay $129 to update to a version that doesn't fix such a fundamental bug? No thanks. I think the time has come to switch to another program.

Quote:

"Still working on these issues?" Dantz has known about the Unicode problem since April 2002, if not earlier. It's hard to believe that it still isn't fixed.

Lack of Unicode support isn't a bug; lack of Unicode support is a missing feature.

Fixing a bug means addressing some portion of existing code.

Adding Unicode support would mean a major rewrite of the program itself.

I'm not saying that it's not a deal-breaker for some (or for many). And I'm not saying that it doesn't suck that some files can't be backed up. But it's not as if it is some trivial fix.

Dave

Hi

For the record:

Even if Retrospect had unicode support there are still some characters that may not be backed up properly. There a bunch of encoding schemes out there and OS devellopers like to mix and match. In any case, Retrospect can currently backup all but 8 Japanese characters that I am aware of. There may be some others in other languages of course.

Nate

Quote:

Lack of Unicode support isn't a bug; lack of Unicode support is a missing feature.

Fixing a bug means addressing some portion of existing code.

Adding Unicode support would mean a major rewrite of the program itself.

Whether a bug or a lack of a feature, either way, it's a shortcoming.