Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hello,

 

I'm creating a giant back-up set that will be backing up about 150GB of media daily for 6 months.

 

If I move files around in the source, will the back-up recognize that they've been moved, or will it think its a new file and re-backup the files? I ask this because our files are quite large and we delete and move them around alot.

 

Thanks in advance! :)

 

Ana

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It all depends on your version of Retrospect (you haven't provided any version information whatsoever) and your settings (again, no information provided).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, haha you mean you can't read my mind? Sorry about that.

 

I'm using EMC Retrospect 8!

 

As for what settings, I haven't actually started the back-up, or created any settings as I'm trying to do some of this research first. If I have to specify something in there in order for the back-up to recognize the files have been moved and aren't new ones - please let me know :)

 

Thanks so much for your help!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is the Retrospect 6 forum, but never mind.

 

With the default settings, you can move the files around without having them backed up again.

 

The determined user can set up Retrospect to make duplicate backups of files that are moved.

 

However, renaming causes the file to be backed up again.

Also set another label (color) on a file will also cause it to be backed up again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×