Backup System and Applications and Duplicate other Files

I think I put this post in the wrong forum so I am putting a copy here. I did not see a way to delete it from the other forum. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Hi! I am new to using back up software like Retrospect. I used "Backup" for my entire computer and I wondering if that was the best approach. I would like to be able to see my personal files, instead of having to execute a search by criteria and have files copied to a folder in the root directory. I took a look at "Duplicate "and that seems good for personal files and folders but maybe not for system files and folders. Is it a good practice to use "Backup" for system files and "Duplicate" for personal files? Can you do that on the same backup HD?

Thanks in advance for your help,

ridgerunner

• Like 2

It is not clear to me which version of Retrospect you are using, so advice will be limited. Regardless, it would be worth your while to carefully read the documentation (eg. 7.5 User Guide) here, especially regarding backup strategies.

This will help you see the essential differences between simply duplication of a file vs. incremental backup strategies.

Managing backups is hard. Keep in mind - they are only as good as your proven ability to perform a successful restore of any given file.