Multiple Media Sets on 1 LTO

I am new to using Retrospect and I'm a little fuzzy on how these Media Sets work. I am using an LTO Tape drive to make backup copies of clients' work. Each client has about 200 Gb worth of data, so I can fit about 4 projects on each tape. Can I create a different Media Set for each client and have multiple Media Sets on a single tape, or do I just create 1 Media Set per tape and put multiple projects in that Media Set?

• Like 4

It appears, because you are using the "newspeak" language of "Media Sets" rather than the older, formerly politically-correct term of "Backup Sets", that you are probably using Retrospect 8.x for Macintosh. You would probably get more responses if you posted in that forum:

Retrospect 8 for Macintosh

Can I create a different Media Set for each client

Yes

and have multiple Media Sets on a single tape,

No

or do I just create 1 Media Set per tape and put multiple projects in that Media Set?

That would work.

Here is the paradigm, perhaps it will help you get your head around this in the absence of User Manual documentation for Retrospect 8:

A Media Set is a database (container) into which you dump files and metadata (permissions, ownership, etc.) information. Many types of Media Sets (such as tape media sets) have multiple parts ("members"). Each tape for that Media Set is a "member" of the Media Set, and the members are used (and numbered) sequentially as the Media Set (database) grows.

The "catalog" is a database index into the Media Set, and tells Retrospect where the various files in the Media Set are located, etc.