Catalog File out of sync with Backup Set

I keep getting this error message on my backup set about half way through a backup.

"Catalog File out of sync with Backup Set"

I have rebuilt the catalog from the disks and it still does it. How is it possible for the catalog to be out of sync with the backup set when i just rebuilt the catalog FROM the backup set?

Strange thing, after recreating the catalog, I can groom just fine, but not backup. I've rebuilt the catalog 3 times so far but no luck.

More info:

Windows Server 2003 SP1 (not R2) 32-bit

Retrospect Single Server 7.5.508 (have also tried 7.5.516, same problem)

Doing a Disk-to-Disk backup to 1 backup set over 5 external hard drives.

Have verified the integrity of the disks, no problems. I have been using this setup for 2 years and no problems until now.

I know I can just dump the whole backup set and start over, but I've got backups back to August that I need to keep.

Thanks in advance for any help.

How big is the backup set?

How many clients are you backing up to it?

5 external hard drives suggests the size may be 2TB or so, which is huge, IMHO.

I'd suggest splitting the disks up into multiple backup sets.

Try to keep the maximum size of each one to under 1TB. 500GB would be even better.

If you ask me, I'd suggest 1 backup set per disk, and then just divide the clients up evenly amongst them, for the following benefits:

1. easier to manage

2. quicker to catalog rebuild

3. quicker to media verify

4. allows you to concurrently backup multiple clients, hence shorter backup times.

5. more reliable

You've probably just bumped into the upper limits of the product. How many files in the backup set?

Actually, no clients are being backed up. It's all the server's storage. We do 3D, graphic design, signage and video editing, so we have huge files. There are only 2 volumes on the server and we plan to keep increasing their size as our company grows. They are currently 700gb and 500gb.