DVD Drive - Pioneer 112D and 115D

I have been backing up to DVD using a DVR-112D burner for a couple months now. The media I'm using is DVD-R.

I've recently installed another DVD drive - a DVR-115D. It seems to me it is the updated version of the DVR-112D which is not available anymore that I found.

I can't get retrospect to configure the drive, and wondering if anyone else has been through this. I also decided to try to configure the 112D drive (that was working) again to see what happens with that. It starts doing it's thing, and then hangs while it's establishing the drives writing method.

I can't get the drive to show up in the available devices window and am not sure if it is suppose to show up there or not before configuration.

I got the 115D with firmware 1.06 and will try updating it to 1.18 after I transfer it to a PC....

This is a PIA. Retrospect - please get your shit together soon....

I was forced to buy another drive because I wanted another copy of my DVD set. I can't make a copy of any DVD member because retrospect insists on using a foreign file structure.

The excuse that it has to to keep DVD's open is bull. Every other burning software doesn't have this problem.

Now I can't get another drive working. Outdated piece of crap.

This is more of a rant because the people supporting retrospect need to get honest feedback, but if you have anything you can do to help - it s much appreciated.

Edited by Guest
I had more bad things to say

JBender,

First, this is a user-to-user support forum. Your rants here don't accomplish anything except to let you vent your frustration. I'm a user like you are, just like most of the other people who post here.