Jump to content

Save last snapshot as entire backup?


Recommended Posts

My HD died and I'm receiving a new laptop from Apple - this will be a switch from PPC to Intel. I would like to save a complete copy of the contents of my backup based on the last snapshot; i.e. I do not need every version of every file over the past year and a half, just one copy of all the files that would be restored if I did a complete restore based on the last snapshot.

 

I almost restored the entire drive using restore the files feature so the target drive (an external drive) does not get completely wiped out. I was then going to run a backup of that, but then I got the "Ignore Ownership On This Volume Setting Enabled" warning. My concern is that I would like to maintain the integrity of the backup, and if I leave it on I may not accomplish that and if I turn it off, I may never be able to delete files I want to get rid of after running the backup (short of reformating the drive).

 

Any ideas? Any way to "compress" a backup to the last snapshot? I looked through the manual and conducted searches and wasn't able to find anything.

 

Thank You!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The mac version of Retrospect does not have grooming, which would allow you to "prune" your backup set. That's another feature missing in the Mac version that the Windows version has had for a long time. Only choice (although it wouldn't be of much use on an Intel Mac to have a PPC image) to accomplish what you seem to want would be to get a spare disk, do a full disk restore of the last snapshot, then back up that full disk to a new backup set.

 

You could also define a Retrospect subvolume on the external disk and do an entire disk restore to that, etc. (assuming that you have enough room).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Quote:

I almost restored the entire drive using restore the files feature so the target drive (an external drive) does not get completely wiped out. I was then going to run a backup of that, but then I got the "Ignore Ownership On This Volume Setting Enabled" warning.

 


 

Makes no difference. When you Restore Files and Folders, Retrospect will set the ownership matrix to be read/write for the current logged in user. The only time Retrospect will Restore using the original file(s) permissions is when you perform a Restore Entire Disk operation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...