Data Restore complications

I'm a newbie using Retro. today we decided to test and try to restore our regular backups. The contents are 5 directories with many sub directories within. I'm following the instructions in the Retrospect user's guide on page 51. Why can I just select the current backup catalog which includes all those 5 folders and have them restore to my external HD. I'm able to do a restore by selecting one folder and this folder once its copied to the destination does not keep the tree format. Eg: source is:

dir1/

and destination results:

/Weekly Catalog[056]/<directories in dir1>

How can I restore:

/dir1

/dir2

/dir3

/dir4

/dir5

Exactly the same order to the destination. I tried snapshot and it gives me the choice of selecting one directory at a time not the whole thing. I'm restoring from tape. These are my specs:

Retrospect version= 6.1.126

Retrospect Driver Update= 6.1.3.101

Device Access Version=1.0.107

Mac OS= Mac OS X Server 10.4.6

Computer Model = RackMac3.1

Model External HD=LaCie d2

thanks

You don't say where Dir1, Dir2, Dir3 etc comes from. Are they from the same original disk backed up at the same time? Or are they from the same disk, backed up at different occasions? Or are they from different disks?

Only in the first case are you able to restore them in one "go". And you are not able to replace the folder directly (unless you have backed up and wants to restore the entire disk).

I'm restoring from tape to an external HD. The process goes ok, but I wanted to restore all the folders that I backup to tape, all at once. Seems that I'm only able to restore folder by folder, not the 5 folders at a time. Also I'm not able to keep the structure of the directories. When I restored one folder eg. \dir1 I get to see the contents of /dir1 on the external HD not the actual /dir1 with the contents in it.

thanks

I'm not sure that I am following what is wanted here, but I will make a stab at it.

Quote: