Email notification on Schedualed Backups- Can't get to work

I can't get my Eudora Event handler to execute. I'm stumped where the User Guide says; "Double click the event handler and point it the the location of your email application, then quit." When I double click the event handler launches and does nothing. What is this "pointing to" stuff??

I have my Eudora event handeler modified for my email address and in the /Library/Preferences.

I'm new to applescripting so I am just using the example scripts that came with Retrospect. My backup test script seems to be executing just fine. I just don't get any email?

Chuck

Chuck,

Here's my suggestion for what it's worth. None of the event handlers are worth anything except the python event handler. Why? Because all of the specialized versions (Mail, Eudora, etc.) were written for a particular version of the MUA (email client). Every time some detail changes for the MUA client, the event handlers break.

The python version doesn't use any email client, so it is isolated from updates/changes to the email clients.

I have been using the python version since day one on our Xserve G5 and Retrospect, and it works well. Link is here:

Python event handler script

If you still have problems after trying that, post again and we will get you going. Even if I have to send you my script (modified somewhat for our enhancements, etc.) that I know works.

Russ

Thanks, however no success. I wonder if in fact Retrospect is sending or trying to send messages to the event handler. Is there any log somewhere that would give some information, error message, something?

I've modified your python script with my; email address, smtp address, from address, username, and password, and saved the modified script in /Library/Preferences/Retrospect as a "application bundle". I also saved your macmail.py there.

Maybe I can add something to the script to tell me that at least Retrospect is talking to the Event handler?