Verification option always fails with error 205

I've been using Retrospect for more than 10 years and have had virtually no problems. The current configuration includes a Dual G4 Power Mac (Quicksilver model) running OSX 10.3.9, Quantum SDLT320 tape drive, ATTO ExpressPCI UL3D, Retrospect 6.1.126 with RDU 6.1.9.102. Retrospect's main job is to backup a 1 terrabyte external firewire drive attached the same computer, although I get the same error when backing up the internal hard drive or a network client. Here is a snippet from the Retrospect log that describes the problem:

2/19/2007 12:22:22 PM: Copying JobFolder on Sugar1TB…

2/19/2007 12:30:04 PM: Comparing JobFolder on Sugar1TB…

Trouble reading: “1-Jobs04-02-05recovered” (0), error 205 (lost access to storage medium).

2/19/2007 12:30:44 PM: Execution incomplete.

Remaining: 732 files, 6.0 GB

Completed: 265 files, 194.4 MB

Performance: 774.8 MB/minute (816.8 copy, 291.5 compare)

Duration: 00:08:22 (00:00:02 idle/loading/preparing)

This behavior has been going on for a couple of years, probably since we first aquired the SDLT drive. In the past, I have just ignored the problem and turned off the verification option.

We ran into a corrupt backup set recently. Interesting, in that it was unable to rebuild the catalog from tape, but it was able to restore everything on the tape to a hard drive. Anyway, this event motivates me to pay attention to this verification problem. Any sugggestions or antecdotes are welcome. Thanks.

> We ran into a corrupt backup set recently. Interesting, in that it was

> unable to rebuild the catalog from tape, but it was able to restore

> everything on the tape to a hard drive

This is a scary situation. Generally, you don't want to Restore _everything_ on a tape; generally you want to Restore the contents of a Backup Set's Snapshot, so you get only the most current versions of each file (unless, of course, you want more then that).