Jump to content

Retrospect v5.6 auto-aunch as specific user?


mhains

Recommended Posts

My machine wakes up at 1am to back itself up, then it sits there (because the "shutdown" preferences option doesn't actually shutdown). When my wife logs into our Windows XP-based machine, it shows her the Retrospect app sitting there. Is there some way to prevent this? So that only if *I* login does it show the application? She doesn't want to be bothered with it (and any associated error messages). Is there a "run as <user>" option? I can't seem to find this anywhere...

 

Michael

Link to comment
Share on other sites

When you install Retrospect you must login as Administrator so that Retrospect can run under the "system account". This allows Retrospect to back up all data on the computer, no matter who the user is.

 

You will not be able to avoid seeing Retrospect unless you specify, "quit when done" under Special>Preferences and make sure the backup comples before the first morning logon. Maybe start the scheduled backup earlier.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...