Need Help Setting this up - Home User

ANKulin

HI.

I have purchased Retrospect 18 (Solo) for keeping back ups of my photos and documents.  I am not an IT professional and probably over thinking this and so very unsure of what I need to do to set this up efficiently for what I want to do.  I have attached a simple sketch that will hopefully aid in understanding what I have and what I would like to do.

Basically I have three SSDs or HDDs on my home PC that I wish to keep backed up.  One 2TB SSD contains date (documents, spreadsheets, etc.), while two 4TB HDDs hold my photo collections.  I have 6 HDDs (2 x 2TB, 4x4TB) that I will be using as backup destinations.  At any one time three of these HDDs will be at home and the other three will be stored at our cabin located about 200 km from home.  I plan to swap these drives on a roughly monthly basis taking the three back-up drives home up to the cabin on a Friday and returning back with the other three drives on the Sunday and connecting these to my Home PC.  These would be one month out of date and so I would expect retrospect to update them and bring them up to speed.  I want to set this up so that other than me physically disconnecting and reconnecting these drives to my PC that all of the backing up is carried out automatically without any user intervention in the software.

I believe I want to do pro-active backups that backup daily while the three backup HDDs are connected the PC and set up incrementally so that only changes to files are backed up.  And I would like it to be set up so that when my back-up HDDs become full, that Retrospect just overwrites older back-up data on the disc and does not ask me for a new disc.  Otherwise I would just reformat the backup HDD and live with redoing a full initial backup on the disc.  From what I have gathered in my stumbling around so far in the software is that it looks like I will end up with six back-up sets and six scripts (one for each back-up set).