Half the time I get the Dashboard

kidziti

There seems absolutely no rhyme or reason, but there are two icons I can activate to open Retrospect - one opens the program, the other opens this incredibly clunky and slow dashboard that takes several minutes to open if it ever does. The problem is that when I click the basic program icon, half the time the dashboard tries to open (and often fails.) I don't want the dashboard but it's always a roll of the dice that I'll get it anyways. Is this a know problem? Does anyone have a solution?

Dashboard.jpg

kidziti,

This Knowledge Base article used to have an explanation of what to do to get around Dashboard problems.  It was updated 16 May 2019, which may indicate an Engine update which got messed up in Retrospect Windows 16.5.  File a Support Case. Disclaimer: I'm a Retrospect Mac administrator.

One suggestion would be to do what NoelC does, as quoted in this September 2019 post followed by my links to instructions on how to use Windows Task Scheduler, and bypass the Retrospect Windows Scheduler entirely.

Another suggestion—not exclusive with the one in the preceding paragraph—would be to pay US$49 for the Management Console Add-On, for which you'll have to contact Retrospect Sales directly (it's not yet in the Configurator) and use Granular Remote Management so you can kiss the Dashboard goodbye.  I think there's already a way to open a particular Retrospect Engine from the Remote Console (I don't have major-league-pitcher-quality vision, so I can't read the screen images in the KB article); Werner Walter of Sales has used it; phone (888) 376-1078‬ X814.