Manually queueing multiple jobs in Retrospect Desktop?

jhg

If I try to manually initiate a job while another job is running to the same backup set, Retrospect rejects the attempt.

I would expect that it would just add the job to the "Waiting" queue instead.

Is there a way to explicitly add a job to the "Waiting" queue?

jhg,

I am a Retrospect Mac administrator, but I've got a couple of suggestions:

First, if running 3 scripts as separate Immediate operations, explicitly designate the same Execution Unit for all 3 scripts.  Look on page 93 of the Retrospect Windows 15 User's Guide  (you don't specify your version of Retrospect) about switching into Advanced Mode to designate the Execution Unit, then proceed from there.  I think that will put the operations into the "Waiting" queue; the equivalent does so on Retrospect Mac.  OTOH Retrospect Windows may have special limitations for Immediate operations; Retrospect Mac eliminated Immediate operations in 2009, treating Toolbar-button submissions as scheduled-immediately script creations.

Second, if trying to run 3 backup scripts as if they were one script, I assume that you would simply put all the Sources into a single script if they were disjoint volumes or Subvolumes.  Since therefore they must overlap, consider defining the overlapping Sources as Subvolumes.  Subvolumes are discussed beginning on page 420 of the UG, and —since they are only defined to Retrospect—I don't see any prohibition on defining them so that they name the same folder—provided that (at least on the same volume, and preferably globally) you use different names for each Subvolume.  Page 175 of the UG says "Click and drag to rearrange the list order" of Backup Sources.

Third, a script cannot execute other scripts.  Administrators have occasionally asked for this facility, but Retrospect Inc. has evidently decided that its programming complications would outweigh its usefulness.