Another New Windows User, advise on DR

Soda

Hi,

I am just getting to grips with Retrospect on windows after many years on Mac. The day to day folder specific backups are working fine.

Can I use retrospect to backup my entire boot disk including the hidden partitions(EFI, MSR and recovery) to restore/roll back my entire OS? I don't see these partitions when I select the local drive? Is it just done anyway or not needed?

Please excuse me if anything seems stupid, I am new to windows.

Thanks!

Click Backup | Disaster Recovery.  This will probably require that you download and install a huge free library of Microsoft utilities before you can continue.

There's documentation in the manual.  Try it and get back in touch if you have problems.

I think there is also a Youtube video on this which will help explain.

Good luck

Thank you.

So are the efi, msr and recovery partitions generic? As long as you have a backup of all the local files you can restore to even a different HD, the system partitions will get created and you're ready to go? I'm asking as for the moment I have been using some cloning software that seems to backup even those partitions.

For a start, you can read Chapter 9 "Disaster Recovery" on pages 329-350 of the Retrospect Windows 12 User's Guide.

There are now 3 Disaster Recovery video Tutorials.  I think the one you probably want is this one, entitled "Prepare for Disaster Recovery—Flash Media".  However, if you are old school, you may want this one, entitled "Using the Disaster Recovery Boot CD".  If you are positively archaic, you may want this one, entitled "Disaster Recovery Preparation in Retrospect 8 for Windows"—which may correspond to what's in the UG.

I can't quite get a complete answer to how - exactly - Retrospect restores the hidden "boot" partition on the restored disk, nor what I have to do to properly prepare the disk for that restoration.