File/directory not found messages during backup

rfajman

I'm using Retrospect 11.5 Desktop/Professional.  Frequently I get numerous error -1101 (file/directory not found) messages during the initial copy phase of backups.  These are almost always files that are always there, not ones deleted between the scan and the copy phases.  Also, they are not the same files every time.  Generally, rerunning the backup works, but that is a pain.  Retrospect is supposed to be more automatic than that.  It happens on the "server" PC and both of my 2 clients.  It's not a new problem, but rather something that has been happening for a long time.  I'm running Window 10 now, but it was happening long before that.

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...

This may not have anything to do with Roger Fajman's problem, since I'm a Retrospect Mac administrator.  

However, in order to test out Retrospect e-mailing (which I don't normally use, because my "backup server" machine is 40 feet away from my client machines in my apartment) in connection with a script hooks problem another Retrospect Mac administrator is having, yesterday I Removed and Added one Mac client after having updated its Retrospect Client software to the latest version.  When I then ran my usual incremental "Sun.-Fri. Backup" script this morning, I got -1101 errors for three volumes other than the boot volume on the one client that is a Source for that script.  It turned out that these other Retrospect-detected volumes are some kind of garbage (cache volumes?) on my one-and-only SSD drive in that laptop client.